Run Commuting

Working 4 10 hour days means that yes, I get an awesome three day weekend, but it makes getting a run in a bit challenging.  Especially since it’s awful here in the summer, running during the day isn’t always the best choice.  But, for a majority of the summer, I ran into work in order to avoid the horrible heat and humidity that I would have confronted during the day.

One of the things that I learned by being obsessed with the people who have climbed Everest, is understanding when to be opportunistic.  To make choices about when you do things.  Even if it means getting up at 4:30 in the morning so you can hit the road (hopefully not literally) by 5:20 so you can shower before your shift.  And, sometimes, you have to face the music and just deal with the discomfort.

Now that we are on the other side of the time change, I’ve been finding myself running during my lunch break, which is nice, and sort of reminiscent about how I handled things while at Children’s.  The difference is, of course, that I am running 5 miles instead of 3, so it’s a bit more time consuming.  Luckily, I’ve landed a job that doesn’t mind if I do such things.

Leave a Reply

