Brain Dump

It’s been a busy week.  I haven’t really given it its due, writing about wanting to kill people on my commute and such, when in actuality it’s been so event-laden.  But, I’ll try and at least give it a little send-off.

On Tuesday, I actually cried tears of joy over the election of Barack Obama as President.  Even the failure of my state to vote like reasonable human beings on Prop 8 couldn’t take away that overall general feeling of hope that I had on Wednesday.  I would like to point out, however, that the cynic in me didn’t rest — the first thing I did Wednesday morning was to check and make sure he was still president.  Ever the cynic.

On Wednesday, I got a myspace message from my brother, Kirk, who told me my grandmother was in the hospital.  She had a stroke.  She’s fine, and I’ve called her several times.  I’d really like to send her something in the hospital, but I want to send something to do rather than something to look at or smell.  I’ve been thinking about sending her a copy of The Gospel of Thomas, which I enjoyed and found quite a bit of interesting philosophy in, but I think the message would be lost — either that or she would be insulted, since it’s not included in the KJV 1511.  Seriously.  I guess flowers it is.

Sigh.  That lead to about forty minutes of scouring the web for gifts that are sub-par to what I would just go and buy for her at, say, Barnes and Noble.  Then I start thinking about my dad, who is ‘declutterfying’ the house, let’s say, and I don’t know that I want to give her something that would just end up in a pile, so I don’t want to send too much. . .

Ugh.

Round and round it goes.

Other than that, I’m doing well.

So – any suggestions on what I should get gramma?

One thought on “Brain Dump

  1. I find it so funny that you checked on Wednesday morning to make sure Obama was still the president because I did the same thing! I NEVER, EVER, EVER watch television in the morning (or at all for that matter), but I sure did turn on the television that morning, I was sure there would be some trick. I’m still waiting as a matter of fact – I’ll believe it in January/09

    But, come to think of it – all things considered – no one else would really want the job right now!

Leave a Reply

