Cult of Personality

For as long as I can remember, I’ve loved personality tests. I know, it’s kind of lame, but there it is. I’m not the only one — in many cases, business administer personality tests such as the Myers-Briggs, Enneagram Type, and DISC assessments to potential job candidates. There was a fascinating, if not completely accurate book about Presidential Temperaments.

When I first attended Chatham College, incoming freshmen were required to take the full Myers-Briggs Assessment, which contained 1200 of those questions. Ouch. The kicker was, I had taken the test before, and I have consistently scored the same personality type since first taking the test as a high school senior.

In case you were curious, here’s how I score on those personality tests:

Myers-Briggs: INFP, Role Variant: Healer
Enneagram: 2, The Helper
DISC: DOMINANCE = 32, INFLUENCE = 12, STEADINESS = 36, COMPLIANCE = 20

Leave a Reply

